Dyota's blog

PowerShell: post-project reflections, or: PowerShell foundations

Whew!

For a recent project, I wrote around almost ~2,000 lines of PowerShell code. Not that quantity means much by itself, but it was a significant effort, and it was definitely entering the region where "normal people" with pretty good Excel skills would not have been able to do the task with the same rigour or expedience.

This was a chunk of work that solved a real business problem. Below, I list the techniques that I used. It is just applying the basics over and over again.

I've ordered the list below from fundamental to a bit more advanced. There are about 20 major dot points or concepts here.

I would consider this a pretty robust foundation that, if I had a grad under my wing, I would get them to learn and practice.

Techniques

"Coding"

Reading and writing data

Checking stuff

Filtering

If

Doing stuff over and over

Text manipulation

Advanced stuff

#powershell