Dyota's blog

Power BI: Blank table to house HTML

HTML refuge

I tend to use HTML quite a bit when making up dashboards in Power BI, and I think it's a skill that everybody should learn to have a little secret weapon up their sleeve.

Many times, I just want a bit of nicely formatted text that I need to look just so. Sometimes I need to make up a colour legend that sits outside of a visual (or placed somewhere that default Power BI doesn't allow), or I want a nice hover-over tooltip, or I want a headline number but the default Card visual just doesn't do it for me.

These HTML snippets have to be stored as measures. Recently, I've been using a blank table to house these measures. This makes them way easier to find, and I can hide the whole table conveniently.

To make a blank table, make a table according to this formula.

blanktable = Row("Column", BLANK())

#powerbi